How to prevent iPhoto from opening automatically when you sync an iOS device

When you plug an iOS device into your Mac, you no doubt end up launching iPhoto, whether you intended to or not. Yosemite handles the setting that controls this in a way different than its predecessors.

Kirk McElhearn:

By default, when you sync an iPhone or iPad, OS X opens iPhoto, asking you if you want to import photos. I had this setting turned off in Mavericks, but it seems to have been turned on again in Yosemite. Yet when you look in iPhoto, there is no such setting. Tricky of Apple to have hidden it in another app…

Read the post for the details. Good stuff.



7 thoughts on “How to prevent iPhoto from opening automatically when you sync an iOS device”

  1. This is not new at all. It is possible that Yosemite is turning it back on, but the setting has always been in Image Capture.

  2. Not for me. In Mavericks it is still in the general preferences in iPhoto and Image Capture doesn’t have this option.

  3. Except contrary to what Dave and Frank are saying, in Mavericks for me the setting is in iPhoto not Image capture. I checked before I posted a reply to Dave.

  4. The setting is available in both Image Capture and iPhoto on Mavericks and Yosemite. The iPhone has to be selected in Image Capture to show the setting widget. (Not so) much ado about nothing.

  5. I looked again and could not see the setting in Image Capture even with the iPhone selected. I turned the triangle in the lower left and then the settings became available. The icon looks like a eject icon to me so I never clicked on it before.

    “(Not so) much ado about nothing.”

    Yup.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *